Secondary School

A plurilingual Education

Lower Secondary

From Year 7 (6eme) to Year 10 (3eme) LFID provides a challenging curriculum established by the French Ministry of Education.

LFID also offers several modern languages – English, German and Spanish.  Latin is an option from Year 8.


Educational restructuring for schools

As part of educational restructuring for schools (ruling of 8th July, 2013), the structure of 4 lower secondary years was reviewed . Year 7 (6eme) is now part of Cycle 3 in the National Curriculum and the 3 remaining years make up Cycle 4:

  • Cycle 1 : PS, MS, GS (RC – Year1)
  • Cycle 2 : CP, CE1, CE2 (Year 2 – Year 4)
  • Cycle 3 : CM1, CM2, 6ème (Year 5 – Year 7)
  • Cycle 4 : 5ème, 4ème, 3ème (Year 8 – Year 10)


This grouping of Primary and Lower Secondary into 4 cycles aims to make the school system comparable to those in other countries (OECD, UNESCO etc.).

In Year 7 (6eme) the aim is to reinforce the fundamentals of Primary and introduce students to subjects and specific teaching methodologies for Secondary. From Year 8 – Year 10 (5eme – 3eme) students further expand their understanding and skills.


A common foundation of knowledge, skills and culture

“A common foundation of knowledge and skills” outlines the elements that every student must know and be familiar with at the end of their compulsory schooling.

Following eight areas make up the common foundation of knowledge, skills and culture that students need:

  1. Written and spoken French
  2. Mathematical, scientific and computer languages
  3. Representations of the world and human activity
  4. Foreign and regional languages
  5. Natural and technical systems
  6. The  Arts and body language
  7. Shaping the individual and citizens
  8. Methods and tools for learning


More details are available on the Ministry of Education Eduscol website.

Le Diplôme National du Brevet (DNB)

The DNB examination assesses knowledge attained by the end of Lower Secondary.

Subsequent to restructuring of the Lower Secondary, the DNB now comprises several written tests taken over two days and one oral test. Moreover, the grading is done based on continuous assessment through the year of the abovementioned eight foundation skills and a final exam.

More details are available on the Ministry of Education Eduscol website


Upper Secondary

From Year 11 (Seconde) to Year 13 (Terminale) LFID provides a challenging curriculum established by the French Ministry of Education.

For their two final school years – Year 12 and Year 13, LFID students can choose one of the following options: Language and Literature (option L); Economics and Social Sciences (option ES); Mathematics and Sciences (option S).


The Baccalaureate

LFID is an examination Center; test copies are digitally sent to be marked by French school teachers outside India. Written Baccalaureate tests in overseas centers are allocated to the Académie de Montpellier.

The Baccalaureate examinations are split into two groups – the first round and the second round or “resit orals”. For many years now, LFID Year 13 students have been achieving excellent results; 100% of students have passed across all three sections for the last four years. More details are available on Eduscol  – the Ministry of Education website.